These emails are written to look like a personal response, but they contain links to external websites (that aren't owned and operated by us) asking for credit card and other personal info. Backpage.com DOES NOT require any credit card information to respond to ads, under any circumstances. If you respond to an ad and are asked to go to a site that looks like backpage to enter credit card information, please simply forward these to abuse@backpage.com
It's also important to note that Backpage.com does not operate under any other domain names. If you click a link claiming to be from backpage, make sure that the URL in your browsers navigation toolbar is pointed to "http://www.backpage.com" or "http://dallas.backpage.com", etc.
Here's an example of an email one of our users received and a screen shot of the seemingly innocuous ad he responded to...
From: "**********@ztxmail.com
To: "**********@yahoo.com"
Date: September 23, 2009 12:27:52 PM PDT
Subject: Tonight?
Hey I haven’t heard back from you since your last reply. I hope you understand my need to be safe.. Not looking for trouble hehe.. Anyway I signed up with backpagescam.com (link edited) to do my verifications. I only hook up with guys I know are of age and safe. A lady can’t be too careful these days. Once u complete the form, Backpage will email you a 4 digit code. Then call me soon and we’ll set something up. My phone number is: XXX-X61-9380… the four digit code you receive is the first 4 of my number.
[caption id="attachment_174" align="alignleft" width="218" caption="Click to Enlarge"][/caption]
Please be on the lookout for ads like these and try to remain aware of any links you click on claiming to be from backpage.com asking for credit card or other sensitive information.
- Carl

My experience with CL compared to BP has been two different worlds of customer service. CL being they basically have none and if they do respond its not very helpful. My buisness is now and will always be on BP "Alicia" in customer support has helped me not once but twice with a nasty customer whom basically wanted something for nothing and now publishes untrue filth which was intended to deture biz. Alicia quickly took care of the matter. Alicia has kept me with BP now and when my biz grows Thank you MS
ReplyDelete250 MERCER ST. GREENWICH VILLAGE, IN MANHATTANFOR $650.00 A MONTH IS A SCAM!
ReplyDeleteTHEIR NAME BERYL CLEARY OF THE UK. AND FRAUD HUSBAND NAME JOHN
ARE ON THE SCAM LIST..THEY ARE NOW ON BACKPAGE.
BP has better customer service compared to CL, We have been using both services for a long time. BP is getting stronger and better in every single ways. We are looking forward to keep the business relationship with BP in the future and hope we both can succeed in our own industry.
ReplyDeleteI almost fell into this Scam my self.
ReplyDeleteBut on the same opportunity I would like to warn everyone from bad Locksmiths practices.
SAM SERVEDIO
ReplyDeleteVIRAL CASH ABUNDANCE ARE SCAMS
Sam Servedio, its funny you say its a scam cause I got a website with an automated system to run in autopilot and got nothing from it. Every since he got my money, have not heard from him since and it has now been six months with no return phone call or email. Think I need to take this up to the FTC authorities.
ReplyDeleteHas anyone been able to speak with SAM?
Hello, I love all your writings, keep them coming.
ReplyDeletethere are so many scams running on the internete so watch out-`;
ReplyDeleteI was scammend by a person selling a vehicle through Westowrd classifieds and what I thought was paypal. I later learned it was a scam after I sent the money by bank wire. There are still several vehicles on that site that are scams. beware.
ReplyDelete