These emails are written to look like a personal response, but they contain links to external websites (that aren't owned and operated by us) asking for credit card and other personal info. Backpage.com DOES NOT require any credit card information to respond to ads, under any circumstances. If you respond to an ad and are asked to go to a site that looks like backpage to enter credit card information, please simply forward these to abuse@backpage.com
It's also important to note that Backpage.com does not operate under any other domain names. If you click a link claiming to be from backpage, make sure that the URL in your browsers navigation toolbar is pointed to "http://www.backpage.com" or "http://dallas.backpage.com", etc.
Here's an example of an email one of our users received and a screen shot of the seemingly innocuous ad he responded to...
From: "**********@ztxmail.com
To: "**********@yahoo.com"
Date: September 23, 2009 12:27:52 PM PDT
Subject: Tonight?
Hey I haven’t heard back from you since your last reply. I hope you understand my need to be safe.. Not looking for trouble hehe.. Anyway I signed up with backpagescam.com (link edited) to do my verifications. I only hook up with guys I know are of age and safe. A lady can’t be too careful these days. Once u complete the form, Backpage will email you a 4 digit code. Then call me soon and we’ll set something up. My phone number is: XXX-X61-9380… the four digit code you receive is the first 4 of my number.
[caption id="attachment_174" align="alignleft" width="218" caption="Click to Enlarge"][/caption]
Please be on the lookout for ads like these and try to remain aware of any links you click on claiming to be from backpage.com asking for credit card or other sensitive information.
- Carl

